Bienvenue!

Let me start by saying, I am no stranger to blogging. I have created two blogs in the last ten years and I must say, each is definitely reflective of my, dare I say, “persona” at the time. The first blog I ever made was very much ridden with angst and sometimes incomprehensible rambling. This should come as no surprise as it was made during my junior year in high school. Back in 2005, blogging was a relatively new trend that came to the Philippine shores. Almost everyone in my batch created one, particularly under Blogger.com’s platform because of the user-friendly interface as well as the option of having a customized look and feel to one’s blog. Lord knows how many times I scoured Blogskins.com trying to find a layout that was so uniquely “me,” something that virtually screams my name when you open my URL. Customization aside, the username was just as important as the things you put in the actual entries. My blog was appropriately named (for the 15-year-old me, at least) My F*cking Confessional. Even more so, it was spelled out in alternating caps (yes, proto-Jejenism at its finest). I just had to add the expletive to make it seem more “in your face” and more angst-y.

My F*cking Confessional circa 2006

Part of its emo "appeal" was the "sucks" graffiti

Fast forward to late 2006, I grew tired of the seemingly bleak excuse for an online journal that was my blog. I decided that I needed to change my outlook. And change, I did. I created a new blog, but this time it portrayed a decidedly different. Whereas my previous incarnation was a lovesick yet forlorn “creature,” the new me was more upbeat. So upbeat in fact that I decided to ditch the whole my-blog-is-predominantly-black-because-I’m-miserable shtick and opted for dizzying bright gradients for my banner (I still kept the splatter motif though) which in turn reflected onto my blog entries. For one thing, I wrote like a psychotic 10-year-old girl in the midst of a sugar rush (hence the name, Sugar and Strife). There was, however, some glimmer of hope in my writing. Certain entries were very introspective but not in the shallow high school-ish manner that I had years ago. Sadly though, my blog only lasted for only two years.

Sugar and Strife circa 2006

I never seem to tire of the eroded, splatter-y kind of aesthetic

With this new WordPress blog though, I feel that I have really matured. Now it seems, my cynicism has ripened and my wit has become increasingly sharp. I intend on having a steady direction for this little project (figuratively and literally speaking). Gone are the gratuitous displays of self-indulgence. I will do my best to make each post as substantial and as insightful (but at the same time interesting) as possible. But of course, don’t expect me to be a blog prude though. I will have my share of overzealous blog posts but rest assured, it won’t be limited to just that. Let’s just say, I’m going to be more straightforward and more serious (gasp!) with my writing style. I just hope that I can keep this up as long as possible, meaning until I get graded for this. Just kidding, Sir Barry!

About Zid

My wit is legendary. View all posts by Zid

10 responses to “Bienvenue!

  • xydc

    Hi Zid! I must say your two previous blogs are like the north and south poles as they are very different from each other. I like how your blogs tell people of your persona; and this tells me that you really are becoming a better person. 🙂
    Today the avenues for expressing oneself are endless. New social media, such as blogs, invite the generation today to be more expressive and creative.
    Good luck to us on this activity! Let’s keep our blogs rolling! 🙂

    • Zid

      Thank you, Xy! Actually, I forgot my passwords for both blogs so I can’t access them anymore. Honestly, I want them both deactivated. 😛

  • barrycade

    it’s interesting how our online activities reveal how much we’ve changed over the years. and there’s completely nothing wrong with that; it’s prolly better than being the same you in all of ten years and counting.

    zid, substance and creativity are not mutually exclusive. i believe you can carry both well as you would with any hairstyle. 🙂

    • Zid

      Looking back, I feel as if the person who wrote my older blogs was very much naive and was still grasping for his identity. I think that now, I have a clear vision of who I am and who I want to be in the not so distant future. 🙂

  • galeaya

    Zid’s [layout] style has definitely changed. The past one used to be so colorful and bubbly. This one’s more tame… and dare I say intriguing.

    I mentioned something like this in Mina’s first post: that you can see for yourself just how much you’ve changed (if at all, in my case) by reading through your past posts. Some will make you laugh, others will make you cringe, and still others will make you want to get on a time machine and prevent your younger self from ever writing that piece. It’s very interesting to read things you wrote as a kid – it’s like learning about yourself all over again.

    That said, I think we have the same fear.. lol

    Pertaining to this: /I just hope that I can keep this up as long as possible, meaning until I get graded for this. Just kidding, Sir Barry!/

    • Zid

      I think it’s about time that I “cleaned up my act.” We’re practically yuppies by next year (hopefully!). That being said, I want to portray a very polished and professional Zid. I haven’t lost my touch though. As you can see, I’ve used Francisco Lachowski in my blog layout. Expect more of him soon in my posts, for illustrative purposes. 😉

  • mythoughtprocesses

    Hi Ziddy!!! My blog’s up!! Though my first entry is yet to come. But here’s the link: http://mythoughtprocesses.wordpress.com/

    Everyone matures and just the way we look at how silly we look like in our baby pictures, we also think and laugh at how much we’ve changed by looking at what we’ve been doing with the Internet back when we first used it. I must admit that back when I was still using Friendster, there have been times when I typed in alternating caps. Oh dear, the horrors of looking at those posts!!! 😀

    • Zid

      Oh boy. Don’t get me started on Friendster. We were all dying to stand out with the custom HTML and CSS feature. Glad that phase is over. LOL. I’ve already added you to my blogroll BTW. 🙂

  • kitsatwork

    This blog requirement is quite nerve-wracking but it’s really cool because we’re putting our internet hours to good productive use. i feel smarter already. HAHAHAHA

    • Zid

      It really forces us to think which makes it all the more challenging. I feel like I always have to churn something out before my blog begins to lose readership.

Leave a Reply

